Network virtually disappeared.

Ok sorry for the pun,

But seriously I booted up an VHD into a new hyper V machine and despite my best efforts, nothing, no connectivity … nada.

Now I’ll admit this is not my primary area of expertise, but I do try to at least understand the basics … so I investigated.

Checking out the virtual network device I was informed that the VMBus Network Adapter had failed to start

“This device cannot start (Code 10)”

Turns out that all I had to do was connect to the VM from the host select Actions -> Insert Integration Service Setup Disc (Ctrl + I) and voila fixed (after a quick restart).

It’s the simple things in life that are often the best, if I’d bothered to read the error messages from the Hyper-V role manager all of this would have been made clear to me a lot sooner <sigh>

Leave a Reply

